RSS Feed

Something “to help fill the gap (pun intended!)” – Magazines for the thinking lady

Warning: This post is about nudey magazines, and contains links to their websites.  If that is not your cup of tea, please leave before reading on.  Don’t worry, it’s not graphic at all.

ONWARD!

I have never ordered nudey mags.  The idea never appealed to me.  However in these modern times a few people with motivation have discovered that yes, the geeks were right and yes some women do like to view sexy men, while still somehow maintaing the ability to think (imagine that!).  Now they are using that knowledge for (possibly) good.

I stumbled upon Filament magazine a little while ago, and I was impressed.  Like I said above, this magazine is aimed towards women -specifically women that are into men.  As far as I know they do not have nude pictures of anything other than men. Regarding the content in the articles, I don’t know how geared towards straight cis-gendered women they are.  All I know as of now is, if you like looking at men, they have you covered.

I have yet to order an issue but the content on their website has me almost convinced that I should be flipping through their pages already.

After discovering Filament magazine, and then discovering that it is a little pricey to get in the US, I began a really lazy (and loosest definition of a) search for another more local magazine that promised similar results.

What I found is Pool Boy Magazine.  I just ordered my first issue.  Now after I did the math, PBM isn’t that much cheaper but the extra cost is mostly for shipping. I also ordered a 2 issue subscription from Filament.  PBM is more local (in the US), hopefully that means my issue will not take as long to arrive so I have something to look at while I wait for Filament to arrive. (;

After looking at the issue content listed on both of the websites I must say that so far Filament seems to have more interesting articles.  Pool Boy seems to have more men I find personally attractive.  Must I really choose between the two?? (:  PBM just published their first issue in Dec 2010, so they still have time to grow.  While I didn’t find all of the men in Filament very attractive, that’s not to say others don’t.  They are definitely good looking, and I haven’t had a chance to look through all the issues, so I can’t officially hold an opinion on that yet.  They do offer a range of different looking men, which I think is a good thing.  Though they differ in their ‘style’, the majority appear to be light skinned and thin-ish.  Hopefully their models diversify over time. A plus with them is that they openly encourage their readers to submit pictures of men they do find attractive, which is great and shows that they only want to please their customers!

Honestly I am more excited about finding a magazine for women with smart articles, that doesn’t make a ridiculous debacle of sex, or define it as basically: something a man does with a woman or something a woman does to please a man.  The openness towards sex is a welcome change for a magazine aimed at women. While I’m not that interested in the pictures, I’ll definitely give them a peek or two. (;

I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of both magazines, and plan to provide a brief review of them after they arrive.

this was originally posted by myself at : mytumblr

Leave a Reply

