RSS Feed

Dita Von Teese and Plus Size Lingerie?

Posted on

Just a quick post-

I read on a post on Plus Model Magazine, that Dita Von Teese announced that she has just signed up to do her own lingerie line.  According to her it will made in “xs to plus-sizes”.

**Update** I heard from a company that claims to be the brand house for the Dita Von Teese line and they stated that the lingerie will be made up to a size 22, and up to an E cup.  So it is more accessible than straight sizing lingerie lines, but will again cut out the upper range of fats**

This is kind of exciting!  There are already plenty of places to get plus sized lingerie, but this could be some class act stuff!

The one thing that is going through my mind is “plus-sizes”, it’s a bit of a vague term, and it’s also one that varies greatly in the clothing industry, even within the same store.

I’m worried that instead of a true “plus-size” (like size 14-36) it will be costume/lingerie/pinup “plus-size”.  Kind of like what Pinup Girl Clothing used to have as its plus sizes, that were really disappointing.  A 2x was about the equivalent of a size 16, maybe 18.  If I remember correctly that was also the largest size they carried.  Not good.  But thank goodness Pinup Girl heard our voices, and (amazingly for a company) did something about it!  Now they carry true plus sizes, but only up to a 2x, which might fit me.

So I’m happy at least she is recognizing that there are fat people who deserve to dress well and enjoy sexy lingerie if they want, I just hope that the new line doesn’t cut short at a size 18.

What are your thoughts? Excited? Hopeful? Don’t wear lingerie?  If you do, where do you buy yours now?

❤ ❤ ❤

7 responses »

  1. I used to find it hard looking for a plus size lingerie before. But when I try to search for an online store that sells plus size lingerie, I find http://www.hotplussizelingerie.com/ that has lots of great designs. Now I can have lingerie that makes me feel so sexy.

    Reply
    • I checked this site out and it seems to have a decent selection. The sizing appears to vary depending on the brand, but their standard size chart goes up to a size 24. Seems like some of the brands go up to the 4x/24 size, or they are a “one size plus” size, which is stated to be from a size 16 to 22. Thank you for recommending the site

      Reply
  2. Yeah, stopping at size 18 would be unfortunate. Hopefully they will acknowledge the true plus size market.

    Reply
  3. In my opinion, this is a very valid concern:

    “I’m worried that instead of a true “plus-size” (like size 14-36) it will be costume/lingerie/pinup “plus-size””

    Some designers are trying to take advantage of the market by calling their clothing plus size even though it really isn’t.

    Reply
  4. I long for really lovely PROPER plus-size lingerie. That caters to we death-fatties as well as the smaller fats. I want pretty things to fit my size 26 (Australian) body!

    Everything I have is as utilitarian as hell and dead boring.

    Reply
    • I know what you mean! I just heard from a company that claims to be the brand house for the Dita Von Teese line and they stated that the lingerie will be made up to a size 22, and up to an E cup.

      so that just touches the outer fringe of the deathfat range… disappointing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

